Miriam Magic in Gapan

I have been campaigning for Senator Miriam Defensor-Santiago in my Facebook timeline and Twitter since the start of the campaign period. I used my social media accounts to encourage my friends to support and vote Miriam on Election Day 2016. I admire the “Iron Lady of Asia” for her exceptional performance, brilliance and excellence as a public servant. She is known as a tough, fierce and fearless lady who “eats death threats for breakfast, political enemies for lunch, and corrupt government officials for dinner.” With her impeccable character and outstanding track records, I strongly believe that she deserves to become the next Philippine President and lead our nation in the next six years.

13138791_10156921243235352_7661985665038478550_n

Announcement from Sen. Miriam Defensor Santiago Facebook page.

On 3rd of May, evening, I saw a post from the lady senator’s official Facebook page stating that she will be visiting Gapan on 4th of May at 2:30 in the afternoon. I have been thinking all night if I shall go or not.

Morning of the following day, I sent a message to my sister residing in Cabanatuan that Senator Miriam will be in Gapan that day and I asked her to be there with her friends so that they can see Miriam in person and also to give their support (my sister is also a supporter of Senator Miriam, though she cannot vote this upcoming election because she’s not on the required voting age yet). I also asked her to take pictures or a video of Miriam giving her speech and send it to me, since I am not going. She said she will go. She even tried to convince me to go if I have nothing else to do that day. I insisted I won’t go because I may not be able to make it on time since it was almost 8 o’ clock in the morning and the travel hours from Cavite to Nueva Ecija may take longer than 5 hours, depending on the traffic situation. But she kept convincing me until I finally decided to take chances. I also considered it as an opportunity to escape from my daily routine in the house.

So, I immediately prepared myself and left home at 9 o’ clock in the morning. I took a bus-ride from Centennial Road in Kawit going to Baclaran and arrived there at 10:30 A.M. I was about to ride a jeepney from Baclaran going to FiveStar terminal in Tramo but Baclaran is too congested because of the private cars parked in the area, with no availability of jeepneys heading to Tramo. I realized that it was Wednesday and it’s Baclaran day. So, I walked all the way from Lydia’s Lechon Baclaran branch to EDSA-Heritage Hotel. Whew! It was a long walk but it’s okay at least I burned some calories. Haha! 😂 (though I have not taken any breakfast yet since I’m rushing). From EDSA-Heritage, I had a jeepney-ride going to FiveStar Terminal. At the terminal, there’s no bus going to Cabanatuan via Gapan route yet. I have waited there for almost an hour before a bus finally came at exactly 11:12AM. This made me feel worried as I may not be able to arrive in Gapan before 2:30 PM, but I am already there so there’s no turning back, I’ll still go!😁 The bus left the terminal at exactly 11:30 A.M. I slept, ate, and checked my location through GPS in my phone from time to time during the trip. It was one hell of a slow drive. Jeez! I’m starting to panic deep inside because it’s already 1:30 PM and I am still in Baliuag, Bulacan. There are still four (4) towns ahead. We reached San Miguel, Bulacan (the last town in Bulacan before Gapan City) at 3:00 PM and I am aware I’m late for 2:30 PM. The bus made a 15-minute stop-over in a certain bus stop station in San Miguel for those passengers who want to eat or use the restrooms. I wanna burst in anger because I may not be able to see Miriam. I do not want my efforts to be wasted. Well, there’s nothing else I can do but to be more patient, and wait. The bus left the stopover and we had a 45-minute drive from San Miguel going to Gapan. I arrived in Gapan at exactly 4:00 P.M. (Thank God! Finally! Whew!) My sister met me in the loading and unloading station called “Bucana” and we had a tricycle-ride going to the Gapan City Gymnasium. While on our way to the gymnasium, we saw a convoy going to the same venue as well. I knew it was Senator Miriam’s. Whew! Thank God again! We’re just in time… I thought I won’t make it…

( video of Miriam’s Entrance to the venue, click HERE)
(video of Miriam’s second half of her speech, click HERE)

13178600_1140869982602123_8400076775551484697_n

Miriam’s Volunteers in Gapan City, Nueva Ecija

13401261_1218062144901175_686771618_n

The Novo Ecijanos, Miriam Volunteers and some media groups getting ready for Miriam’s entrance

I was teary-eyed the moment she stepped out of her car. I proudly screamed, “Miriam! Miriam!” as the Iron Lady of Asia walked towards the entrance of the venue. I cannot explain the feeling that moment but one thing is for sure, the so-called “Miriam Magic” is real.

Contradict to those who are saying that she is terribly sick and no longer fit for Presidency, Senator Miriam was vibrant when I saw her in person. I told myself, “Malakas pa pala siya…” (She’s still strong.) And people who personally saw her can prove that (my friend even told me the same thing when he saw Miriam in the #MiriamREDvolution street party). She is way too different from the Miriam we saw during her first day of campaign and first Presidential debate. The clinical trial she recently had must be effective.

As expected, Senator Miriam gave her speech and began with her famous “pick-up lines.” The first one was my favorite, “Boomerang ka ba?” (Are you a boomerang?) Of course, the crowd responded, “Bakit?” (Why?) Then Miriam continued, “Itinapon ka na, bumabalik ka pa.”  (I have already thrown you away and yet you still keep coming back.) 😂

13407497_1218062148234508_1737691267_n

My sister Abigail (in red polo shirt) and me (in white shirt) while inside the Gapan City Gymnasium

She also gave her reaction regarding her questionable standing in the commercial surveys given that she’s leading in mock poll elections held in different universities. She even asked the other presidential aspirants to face the issues involving them and clean up their names. She ended her speech with her favorite part in the poem “Invictus” by William Ernest Henley:

“It matters not how strait the gate, 
      How charged with punishments the scroll, 
I am the master of my fate, 
      I am the captain of my soul.

Well, it was one tiring day but all worth it. Thank you Senator Miriam! Seeing you in person is enough for me, though I was really dying deep inside that time to shake hands and have a selfie with you. 😭

You may not have won this election, but you will always be the rightful President in the hearts of your supporters. Thank you for being such an excellent role model and inspiration to the youth. I promise to excel in my chosen path, and you will always have a special place in my heart. ❤️

Leave a Reply

